There can be a lot of confusion around vegan wines and what makes them vegan. Surely a product made from grapes and yeast must always be vegan?
However, it is not what goes into the wine that is the concern for people looking for a vegan wine, but how the wine is finished.
Some fining agents are derived from animal products and so for a wine to be vegan, the winemaker must either leave the wine unfined (often referred to as ‘natural wine’) or fine the wine using natural substances such as clay or charcoal instead of animal derived substances.
With increasing numbers of consumers interested in a vegan lifestyle, the IWSC has highlighted its 2021 Gold Medal winning wines which have been finished using only vegan winemaking methods.