Spirits Communicator

Our Spirits Communicator Trophy, in partnership with the global Scotch whisky producer and exports company, Chivas Brothers, recognises a veteran spirits communicator who makes an exceptional contribution towards promoting spirits to the public.

Entries for our 2025 Spirits Communicator Trophy will open shortly. Entry is free of charge. The winner will be announced at our Awards Celebration on 12 November 2024.

The widely regarded accolade is open to entrants from all over the globe, across the worlds of publishing, journalism, social media, broadcasting and education, and is judged by a panel of communication experts, including previous winners of this accolade, as well as a member of the IWSC team and a representative from Chivas Brothers.

The winner of the 2024 Spirits Communicator Trophy, Ian Burrell, was announced at our Awards Dinner & Industry Celebration at the iconic Roundhouse, in London on 19 October 2023.

Each year, the IWSC looks forward to working closely with the winner of the Spirits Communicator Trophy, including the production of features in the IWSC’s consumer publication, Club Oenologique.

Previous winners of this award include Mark GillespieMillie Milliken, Becky PaskinRyan Chetiyawardana, Tom Sandham, Olivier Ward, Alice Lascelles and Dave Broom.

Entry Criteria

Honoring excellence in effective, and meaningful communication across multi-channels, the Spirits Communicator will have spent many years of their professional lives dedicated to communication across:

  • Publishing (books, reviews, biographies and/or autobiographies)
  • Journalism (specialist press, special feature collections, newspaper, magazine and/or digest articles)
  • Broadcasting, radio, television and film (writing, presenting, producing and/or directing)
  • Online (social media, blogging and/or website)
  • Spirits consumer education

Candidates must be/have been:

  • Actively involved in communications in the spirits industry and across different channels
  • Recognised as a role model for trade and/or consumer
  • Demonstrate ethics and professionalism in communication
  • Recognised as an advocate in the spirits industry
  • Earned a reputation as being highly credible with a variety of audiences.

The award will be based on the achievement in the past 12 months from the entry opening dates.

About Chivas Brothers

Chivas Brothers is a global drinks producer and exports company steeped in Scottish heritage. It is the only Pernod Ricard business dedicated entirely to Scotch whisky and comprises a prestigious range of single malt and blended whiskies. Chivas Brothers’ award-winning portfolio features some of the world’s most revered Scotch whisky brands including Chivas Regal, Ballantine’s, Royal Salute and The Glenlivet.