Australia & New Zealand Wine Results Announced, along with Final Wine Trophies!

IWSC news

Seg 26 Set 2016

Australia & New Zealand Wine Results Announced, along with Final Wine Trophies!

After 7 months of tasting, the International Wine & Spirit Competition judges have finished tasting all product entries for 2016 and we are delighted to announce the final wine product trophies, along with the wine medal results for New Zealand and Australia.

New Zealand

For another year running, New Zealand retained possession of the Pinot Noir Trophy, awarded in 2016 to the Giesen Single Vineyard Ridge Block Marlborough Pinot Noir 2013. This was described by the judges as ‘An extremely balanced wine combining fine tannins with brooding summer compote fruit and bright acidity’. New Zealand also scooped the Sauvignon Blanc Trophy with the Kim Crawford Small Parcels Spitfire Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2016.

New Zealand also showed it could excel with other styles and varieties on the world-stage by winning top awards for a spectrum of Riesling styles, a Chardonnay and Gewürztraminer in the whites, and a Syrah, Merlot Cabernet and Malbec in the reds.

“New Zealand has established itself as a world-beater in Sauvignon Blanc, and more recently Pinot Noir,”commented Jo Burzynska, a long time IWSC judge and New Zealand panel chair. “However, in all the years that I’ve been judging at the IWSC, this is one of the widest range of styles I’ve witnessed New Zealand winning top awards.”

“We are delighted with the results that New Zealand wines have achieved at IWSC this year. It’s great to see a continued focus on premium Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir, as well as recognition of the quality coming from a wide range of other up and coming New Zealand wine styles and varieties.” said Chris Yorke, Global Marketing Director for New Zealand Winegrowers.

View the winners


Australia wowed judges once again, picking up almost 40 Gold and Gold Outstanding medals in a range of styles. Australian fortified wines caught the attention of the IWSC panel of experts, with 9 Gold and Gold Outstanding awards, the majority of these being for the world famous Rutherglen Muscat. The Fortified Wine trophy was this year awarded to All Saints Estate Classic Rutherglen Muscat NV.

Australia will also be going home with two more trophies, the Shiraz and the Semillon, both being awarded to 3-time Australian Winemaker of the Year, Mcguigan Wines.

“The Australian wine performance in the IWSC awards this year, with 3 trophies and 39 Gold and Gold Outstanding, is a testament to the high quality of the wines entered. The range of styles from fortified to sparkling, classic Hunter Semillons to modern Pinot Noir and Tempranillo demonstrates the breadth and diversity of winemaking from across Australia’s 65 wine producing regions. This is a fantastic result for Australia.”
Laura Jewell MW, Head of Market UK & Europe, Wine Australia.

View the winners

Trophy results round-up:

-After 3 years of Southern Hemisphere dominance, France has clinched the Blended Red Wine Trophy with the 2013 Chateauneuf du Pape, Domaine des Sénéchaux which particularly impressed the judges, who described it as ‘Seductive in the mouth, round, full of luscious extract and great depth’

-Another French classic scooped the Chardonnay Trophy, Remoissenet Meursault Charmes 2013. Judges commented on its finish being ‘sublime, long, elegant and powerful.’

- The Bottle Fermented Sparkling Wine trophy went to England, proving their dominance in this market. Nyetimber Classic Cuvée Magnum 2009 was the winner.

New Trophy Results

Pinot Noir - Giesen Single Vineyard Ridge Block Pinot Noir 2013
Blended Red - Domaine des Sénéchaux 2013
The Arcadia Trophy for Cabernet Sauvignon - Nederburg Private Bin R163 Cabernet Sauvignon 2013
Zinfandel - Director's Cut Zinfandel 2013
Chardonnay - Remoissenet Meursault Charmes 2013
Chenin Blanc - DeMorgenzon Reserve Chenin Blanc 2015
Dessert Wine - Vin Santo del Chianti Occhio di Pernice Riserva 2010 DOC
Abraham Perold Trophy for Pinotage - Neethlingshof Owl Post Pinotage 2014
Malbec - Cadus Single Vineyard Finca Las Torcazas 2011
Merlot - Radaia IGT 2008
The Jancis Robinson Trophy for Riesling - Dopff & Irion Aoc Grand Cru Schoenenbourg Riesling 2013
Syrah/Shiraz - McGuigan Handmade Shiraz 2007
Sauvignon Blanc - Kim Crawford Small Parcels Spitfire Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Bottle Fermented Sparkling Wine - Nyetimber Classic Cuvée Magnum 2009
Semillon - McGuigan Bin 9000 Semillon 2003
Worldwide Fortified Wine - All Saints Estate Classic Rutherglen Muscat NV

View full trophy results

Notes to editors

• Established in 1969, The International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) was the first competition of its kind, set up to seek out, reward and promote the world’s best wines, spirits and liqueurs. Now in its 47th year, The IWSC’s relentless pursuit of excellence underpins every aspect of the competition today
• What sets the IWSC apart is the formidable reputation of its judging process. Our panels of carefully selected industry experts comprise Masters of Wine, buyers, sommeliers, WSET qualified educators and respected wine journalists. Every single wine is assessed on its own merits within the context of its class
• Currently receiving entries from around 90 countries, the IWSC is truly international in its reach and recognition
• IWSC partners around the world work throughout the year to drive awareness and promote winners to both trade and consumer audiences
• With 47 years’ heritage, an IWSC Award is recognised internationally as a badge of quality