IWSC Releases Product Trophy Results

IWSC news

Thu 9 Oct 2014

IWSC Releases Product Trophy Results


Today (9th October 2014), the International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) announces its Product Trophy Results.


From the 24 distinguished trophies awarded this year, the New World dominated the results with South Africa claiming five, including The Denbies Trophy for Bottle Fermented Sparkling being awarded to producer Graham Beck Wines for its Blanc de Blancs 2009.


It was a great success for New Zealand which received three trophies. One product, the Two Sisters Vineyard SV Riesling 2009 was awarded Trophy for Single Vineyard White and The Jancis Robinson Trophy for Riesling.


Producer Viña Casas del Bosque also won an exceptional two trophies for its Syrah Pequenas Producciones 2012, The IWSC Trophy for Syrah/Shiraz and Trophy for Single Vineyard Red.


A highlight from the results was The IWSC Trophy for Port awarded to Graham’s Single Harvest Tawny Port 1969. The winner was produced in the same year that the IWSC was started 45 years ago, judges said that ‘the intensity lasts from the first taste and cruises effortlessly to almost a never ending finish.


Charles Heidsieck was awarded two outstanding trophies for its Champagne, it received Trophy for Non-Vintage Champagne and also The IWSC Trophy for Vintage Champagne. Judges commented that the Charles Heidsieck Rosé Millésime 1999 had an ‘impressively long finish which manages to be simultaneously dry but fruit-driven.’


Due to the high quality of entries this year, two new trophy categories were added for Zinfandel and Malbec wines. The IWSC Trophy for Zinfandel was awarded to Terlato Wines International for The Federalist 2010, the IWSC Trophy for Malbec was awarded to Viñad de Uco tr for its Finca Piedras Andinas Malbec 2011.


The remainder of the trophies, including Winemaker of the Year, Distiller of the Year and Retailer of the Year, amongst others will be announced at the IWSC Annual Awards Banquet on Wednesday November 12th at the City of London Guildhall, for tickets please contact Pip Mortimer, pip.mortimer@iwscgroup.com.


For further information and the full list of results please visit www.iwsc.net



Notes to editors:

For more information please contact Holly Axelrad at Green Row, Holly@greenrow.co.uk


·        The International Wine and Spirit Competition was founded in 1969 and is the premier competition of its kind in the world. Its aim is to promote the quality and excellence of the world's best wines, spirits and liqueurs. All entries are blind tasted in groups divided by variety, region and vintage as necessary.

·        IWSC has appointed Laura Catena as the 2014 president. 

·        The 2014 Annual Awards Banquet will be held on Wednesday 12th November, at The Guild Hall, City of London.

·        The IWSC has partnered with Wines Direct to promote its top 2014 award winning wines. The price comparison website will allow consumers to search for medal winners by country, variety, colour, region, or retailer. The website will also show judges’ tasting notes for wines which has won trophy, gold, gold outstanding and silver outstanding.IWSC Releases Product Trophy Results