IWSC finalist Jean Smullen hosts ‘Bubbles across the Waves’

IWSC news

Fri 5 Apr 2013

Jean Smullen, a nominee for the International Wine and Spirit Competition’s (IWSC) title ‘Communicator of the Year’ will showcase sparkling wines from around the world at an Italian wine and spirits fair this week <April 8>.

The tasting seminar, called ‘Bubbles across the Waves’, will present award-winning sparkling wines from countries ranging from Russia to New Zealand.

Jean, who is based in County Dublin, is an accomplished wine educator and journalist, with comprehensive commercial experience in the wine industry where she specialises in managing wine events. 

She is one of six finalists in the IWSC’s ‘Communicator of the Year’, a title which recognises an exceptional contribution to increasing awareness of wine and spirits. Previous winners include Jancis Robinson MW, Olly Smith, Susy Atkins, Oz Clarke and Tim Atkin MW.

This year’s finalists included Eric Asimov, the influential wine critic on The New York Times,the Finnish writer, presenter and director, Dave Broom, whisky and spirits expert, Arto Koskelo, the Swedish lecturer and broadcaster, Jan Petersen and Whyte & Mackay partner, Richard Paterson.

Smullen began her wine career in 1991 with the Wine Development Board where she was instrumental in the development of a countrywide wine education programme.  Since 1999 she has been working in a freelance capacity offering a unique consultancy service to the wine trade.   

  • Bubbles across the Waves’ takes place at Vinitaly on Monday April 8, at 11am at Tasting Express
  • The IWSC will be on hand throughout the event to provide information about the 2013 competition and promote 2012 winners. Find them at Galleria 4 -5, stand 3
  • The IWSC Communicator of the Year 2013 will be announced at Vinitaly’s Gala Dinner on Saturday 6th April.




Anna Grant                                                                                 Georgina Wroe

IWSC Head of Sales and Marketing                                        Grow PR                             

Tel: +44 (0) 20 3 176 6460                                                      Tel: +44 (0) 7976 529763

E:  annaG @iwscgroup.com                                                      E: Georgina@growpr.co.uk


Editors’ notes:

Tickets for ‘Bubbles across the waves’ can be purchased online at vinitaly.com 


The International Wine and Spirit Competition was founded in 1969 and is the premier competition of its kind in the world. Its aim is to promote the quality and excellence of the world's best wines, spirits and liqueurs. All entries of wines, spirits and liqueurs are blind tasted in groups divided by variety, region and vintage as necessary.


Previous winners of the IWSC Communicator of the Year:

1996 Jancis Robinson MW - UK

1997 Anthony Dias Blue - USA

1998 Hugh Johnson - UK

1999 Hubrecht Duijkar - The Netherlands

2000 Carlo Petrini - Italy

2001 Andrew Jefford - UK

2002 Matthew Jukes - UK

2003 Max Allen - Australia

2004 Susy Atkins - UK

2005 Joe Wadsack - UK

2006 Oz Clarke - UK

2007 Tim Atkin MW - UK

2008 Karen MacNeil - USA

2009 Olly Smith – UK

2010 Susie Barrie MW and Peter Richards MW – UK

2011 Jared Brown and Anistatia Miller – USA

2012 Charlie Arturaola – Uruguay