Award-winning whisky ‘legend’ praises spirits industry

IWSC news

Mon 8 Apr 2013

WORLD-RENOWNED whisky and spirits expert Dave Broom today <April 6> dedicated a prestigious award to ‘the wonderful distillers and blenders in the spirits industry’.


He also praised ‘the great bartenders around the world’ when he accepted the International Wine and Spirit Competition’s (IWSC) title Communicator of the Year 2013.

The prestigious title, sponsored by Veronafiere and announced at a gala dinner at the Italian wine and spirits fair Vinitaly, recognises an exceptional contribution to increasing awareness of wine and spirits.


Glasgow-born Broom, said: “It’s a great honour for me to receive this fantastic award.  It’s very humbling, because all I do is ask people in the world of spirits the question: ‘Why?”


“They give me the answers and I just pass on that information to as many folk as possible. The award is as much to the wonderful distillers and blenders within the spirits industry for giving me their time and sharing their expertise. So I’m accepting the award on their behalf and that of all the great bartenders around the world.”

Broom praised the men and women who had transformed spirits from the poor relation of wine to its equal.

He said: “When I started writing about spirits they were regarded as little more than an industrial product not worthy of deep study. Thankfully this has changed and people are now realising the artistry and creativity that goes into crafting a fantastic spirit brand is every bit as great as that required to craft a wonderful wine.”


IWSC judges recognised Broom as ‘one of the most universally accessible communicators’ and praised ‘his ability to reach live audiences around the world in both consumer and trade’.

Broom, who is based in Hove, is the contributing editor of Whisky Magazine and editor in chief of the on-line Whisky Mag Japan. He is a columnist and taster on Whisky Advocateand writes for Mixology (Germany) Drink! (China), Fine Spirits and Ginger (both France) and occasionally for The Spectator as well as many other national and international publications.


His latest book, The World Atlas of Whisky (a companion volume to The World Atlas of Wine) has been hailed as ‘a landmark publication’. Two of his previous books, Drink! andRum, won the Glenfiddich Award for Drinks Book of the Year.


Broom, who travels the world with his master-classes as well as judging at international whisky awards, joins an impressive list of past winners including Jancis Robinson MW, Olly Smith, Susy Atkins, Oz Clarke and Tim Atkin MW.

IWSC’s Head of Sales and Marketing, Anna Grant, said: “We’re delighted to welcome Dave as this year’s Communicator of the Year. Judges were impressed by the breadth of his knowledge and the passion and enthusiasm with which he shares it.”

It’s the second time in the title’s 18-year history that the award has gone to an expert from the world of spirits, reflecting the worldwide strength of the sector.


Broom was selected from a six-strong list, drawn from the world’s leading wine and spirits experts, including Eric Asimov, the influential wine critic on The New York Times, the Finnish writer, presenter and director, Arto Koskelo, the Swedish lecturer and broadcaster, Jan Petersen and Whyte & Mackay partner, Richard Paterson and the Irish wine journalist Jean Smullen.



Anna Grant                                                                                 Georgina Wroe

IWSC Head of Sales and Marketing                                        Grow PR                             

Tel: +44 (0) 20 3 176 6460                                                      Tel: +44 (0) 7976 529763

E:  annaG                                                    E:


Editors’ notes:

The International Wine and Spirit Competition was founded in 1969 and is the premier competition of its kind in the world. Its aim is to promote the quality and excellence of the world's best wines, spirits and liqueurs. All entries of wines, spirits and liqueurs are blind tasted in groups divided by variety, region and vintage as necessary.


Previous winners of the IWSC Communicator of the Year:

1996 Jancis Robinson MW - UK

1997 Anthony Dias Blue - USA

1998 Hugh Johnson - UK

1999 Hubrecht Duijkar - The Netherlands

2000 Carlo Petrini - Italy

2001 Andrew Jefford - UK

2002 Matthew Jukes - UK

2003 Max Allen - Australia

2004 Susy Atkins - UK

2005 Joe Wadsack - UK

2006 Oz Clarke - UK

2007 Tim Atkin MW - UK

2008 Karen MacNeil - USA

2009 Olly Smith – UK

2010 Susie Barrie MW and Peter Richards MW – UK

2011 Jared Brown and Anistatia Miller – USA

2012 Charlie Arturaola – Uruguay